Tri-Grammar Cricket Festival in Brisbane

For five days the BGS First XI has been battling it out with Sydney and Melbourne Grammar, as part of the 19th Tri-Grammar Cricket Festival. After competing in Melbourne last year, the festival returned to Brisbane this year, with all matches played at BGS’ Northgate Playing Fields.


From​ its inception in Brisbane in 1998, the winners of the Tri-Grammar Shield have been Melbourne on eight occasions, with Brisbane and Sydney locked at five wins each. Sydney are the current holders from 2015.


This year the festival runs for seven days and includes three one-day matches and one two-day match, along with a T20 competition. The T20 matches were played on Tuesday, with BGS winning one of its two matches. It was the seventh year of the 20-over format being included in the competition.


The touring players from Sydney and Melbourne have been billeted by BGS. Along with these generous families, special thanks must go to the grounds-staff, led by Don Myles, for providing first class playing facilities, along with the umpires for their work in hot conditions.


At the end of the matches a Tri-Grammar XII will once again be selected. It will be revealed below, along with the Tri-Grammar Shield winners once the festival finishes late on Friday.