The BGS War Memorial Library and Gardens precinct has undergone a much needed upgrade, cementing its position as a focal point and student social space at the heart of the School's entrance.
The War Memorial Library was officially opened on 11 November 1924 to honour Old Boys who served and died in WWI. Today the iconic structure pays homage to the many Old Boys who defended Australia in various military campaigns.
The Library offers a wonderful window into the School's military history, and the revitalisation project has encouraged the use of the precinct with the addition of social spaces, improvements to surrounding landscaping and pedestrian access. The project has substantially addressed congestion around the tuckshop area.
A key element of the project has been the creation of an eastern entry to the War Memorial, establishing the focal point of the aspect between the Centenary Hall and Centenary Building. The new stone path pays tribute to the School's military history through the engraved emblems of the Australian defence forces. 'Lest We Forget' now features prominently and respectfully in this locale.
This project was only made possible through the generosity of the P&F Auxiliary and the Old Boys Association, contributing $250,000 and $10,000 respectively. These contributions will soon be formally recognised in the precinct.
The Old Boys Association is currently preparing a grant application, which if successful, may result in the addition of state-of-art exhibits in the Library interior, including an electronic honour board and climate sensitive display cabinets to house precious memorabilia.
We are proud to have completed this project in 2018, which marks the 100th anniversary of Armistice Day which ended WWI.