Brisbane Grammar School - logo

Volunteer Awards

Since Brisbane Grammar School was established in 1868, volunteers have made outstanding contributions to the wellbeing and future of the School through their support and participation.

The School could not provide the same opportunities to students without the support provided by volunteers in the Grammar Shop and Tuckshop, and the groups and individuals supporting sport and activities at the Indoor Sports Centre, Northgate Playing Fields, Rowing Shed and BGS Tennis Centre.

Betty Howell Awards, established in 2011, recognise the actions and achievements of individuals each year who have gone above and beyond normal expectations for students, parents and friends of BGS.

The Award is named in honour of Mrs Joan Elizabeth (Betty) Howell, wife of former headmaster Maxwell A Howell. During her 25-year association with the School, Betty Howell was a passionate volunteer with the Art Committee and P&F Auxiliary.

The award acknowledges community members who have given outstanding service through:

  • voluntary assistance to BGS;
  • active participation in school life;
  • initiation of new programs or activities to benefit BGS; and/or
  • support for the School’s vision through encouragement and personal endeavour.

Traditionally, Betty Howell Awards are presented at the annual volunteer and donor recognition function, Celebrating Our Community.

See below for information about the award nomination procedure. Nominations closed Friday 10 September 2022.

For more information, contact Advancement and Community Relations.



2020 John Ferris
Jane and Brett Halliday '82
Margaret Henderson
Di Morton
Will and Louise Siganto
Bruce Wilson
2019 Judith and Graham Bell
Julie and Jonathan Cichero '85
Kirsten and Craig Whip
Christine and Marcus Tod
Ian Reeves OAM

Louise Edmonds
Mrs Barr-David #


Richard Theile '82
Anne Hewitt


Rhonda Cochrane *
Ian Whittle '66 *


Alice Stephens
Elizabeth Kendall


Ann Lazenby
Northgate Medical Team


Alan Ernst '63
Judy Mewing
Richard Rowles '72


Patsy Brusasco AM
Bill Byth '44
Valda Byth *


Geoff Clarke '64
Marion Ham
Norman Hirst '46 *
Betty Vann